Using Git and GitHub with Embedded Linux Systems

I often need to clone a private Git repo from GitHub onto an embedded Linux system for native compilation. The only problem is that, to clone a private repo from GitHub, there must be a public key registered for each system. To do this for every embedded system is a total pain. However, a Linux machine that has the repo on it already can act as a local server very easily.

On the embedded system, clone the repo using this command:

git clone ssh://user@

For example,

git clone ssh://richard@192.168.10.2/home/richard/veryinterestingrepo

would clone the repo veryinterestingrepo from the directory /home/richard on the machine at 192.168.10.2 using user name richard. At some point Git will ask for the password for user richard. Once this is entered, the clone should work as expected. Pulls and pushes will work as normal as they use the remote from which the repo was cloned.

13 thoughts on “Using Git and GitHub with Embedded Linux Systems

  1. John Foley

    I have endeavored to try and create an AHRS system running on a Raspberry Pi. I can not find anyone who has attempted the three sensors from 10-dof-iMu or Altimu10-V4 to fill this need for an ADSB-receiver to be used in aircraft flight. Do you have any ideas towards that goal?

    Reply
  2. John Foley

    I had run across your solutions before but I didn’t realize your RTIMULb2 was a full Linux (Radpberry) solution. Thank you for responding to my question. I have downloaded this from GitHUb and will research the installation.

    Reply
  3. John Foley

    I am wondering if you have posted a concise installation procedure for a Raspberry Pi for the RTIMULib2 distribution. Have a background in Linux administration, many years ago, but I cannot seem to find a way to install these software pieces not the Linux distribution. I have an Adafruit 10-dof-Imu breakout on a Raspberry Model B+. It sits on the Ultimate GPS hat. Thank you for any help you can provide.

    Reply
      1. John Foley

        I have used the recommended procedure to get installing the RTIMULib2 and have a question, if I may. I ran i2cdetect -y 1 and came up with this.
        A matrix printout
        00 0-1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-a-b-c-d-e-f
        10 19 le
        20
        30
        40
        50
        60 6b
        70 77

        This is a response for a 10-dof-iMu breakout on Raspberry Pi Linux.
        I am wondering if these line up with your build procedure.

        Thank you for any information you might be able to give me about this install.

      2. John Foley

        To answer your question -I don’t know because I am having a problem installing things with CMake. When I execute the cmake .. command in the sequence described for using CMake, it stops because it can not find a CMakelists.txt at that level. I think I should be using the Linux CMakelists.txt in RTIMULib2/Linux/ level for the first Cmake command. I believed I did it as described by generating the BUILD directory within the RTIIMULib2 directories, but typing cmake .. gives an error, looking for a CMakelists.txt file/

      3. John Foley

        Thanks for responding to my concern. I used make ../home/pi/bin/Linux and it worked. I seem to have completed the steps to building the software but I am confused about running the RTILUMCal and similar apps to test and calibrate the sensors on the 10-dof-Imu. I am not sure how to start up the tests and what files are the correct ones to run. In the RTIMULib2/Linux directory, I have all the sub directories for all the Cal – Demo – Drive – Drive 10 – Drive 12. Inside each is a .h file for the .cpp file. I am not sure how to get started. I installed LXDE for windowing and I am not sure if that is necessary. I would appreciate your instruction on how to run these IMU tests. That you for all the help you have given me and I wish you a very Merry Christmas.

  4. John Foley

    You are absolutely correct – After going through the installation twice, I really understood the complete process. It all worked as advertised and I am very thankful that your solutions worked. I have a question about licensing the code for a commercial product. I am building an ADS-B receiver that I hope to build and sell. I am pilot and would like to see the equipment used to fly at a lower price point that others are charging. I do not want to take any advantage of the code that makes AHRS work in this project. I would like to understand what licensing issues you might have for using the code base. Thank you for your understanding.

    Reply
    1. richards-tech Post author

      It’s MIT licensed so you are free to use it any way at all – commercial included. Just keep the copyright headers in the source and you are good to go.

      Good luck with the project!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

